The Four Regions of Abruzzo

...All About Abruzzo!

The Four Regions of Abruzzo

The Regions of Abruzzo

Abruzzo is one of the most interesting and diverse parts of Italy. Its territory ranges from beautiful coastlines to charming plateaus and icy mountain tops, and the local culture is almost as diverse as the territory itself. There are four main regions of Abruzzo (or “provincie”, provinces): L’Aquila, Teramo, Pescara and Chieti. These provinces are named after the main city that represents them. This article features an overview on each of these regions!




L'AquilaNestled in between the mountains, L’Aquila is the least densely populated of all provinces in Abruzzo, but it is also the largest, occupying roughly half of the land of the region, particularly its western part. The province is perhaps the most attractive for tourists looking to dive deep into the history of Abruzzo. There are many stunning buildings and remnants of other eras, including castles, fortresses, hill towns and beautiful churches that are extremely well-preserved. In the year 2009, the capital city of the province suffered from a devastating earthquake of 6.3 magnitude, which had a ripple effect throughout central Italy.


The province of Teramo boasts a fascinating history and a stunning landscape, located between the Adriatic Sea and the Apennine Mountains, with some beautiful hills and valleys, often renowned for the production of highly prized local wines and extra virgin olive oil. People looking to experience the best of local food and tour the vineyards will have a wonderful time sampling great products, such as wines from the Montepulciano and Trebbiano grapes.


This province of Abruzzo was an absolutely vital trading haven between the Romans and the Balkans, due to its strategic position on the Adriatic Sea. However, barbarian hordes nearly destroyed the city, which slowly came back to life in a much humbler form. Originally known as Aternum, the town was later renamed as Pescara, due to its rebirth as a fishermen village. It did not take long before Pescara became an important strategic location yet again, seeing numerous invasions through the history – which brought cultural influences from various sources. The city also experienced another downfall, as bombers managed to destroy large areas of the city during WWII.

Pescara remains interesting for its many historical centers (Penne, Loreto Aprutino, Sant’Angelo) and its proximity with many national parks, such as Majella, which makes it one of the key regions of Abruzzo.


Easter in Chieti

This is the easternmost province in Abruzzo, and it touches the Adriatic Sea to the northeast. The area was largely rural during the 50s and in later decades, but much of the agricultural work has fallen steadily over the years, offset, to a degree by the growth of the service sectors.  In the main city of the province, Chieti, you will find stunning examples of gothic architecture, such as the local cathedral. This province is also well known for Vasto, a beach town with a rich and interesting historical centre, showcasing the vast and diverse history of this land.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *