Abruzzo: A Quick Guide

...All About Abruzzo!

Abruzzo: A Quick Guide

Abruzzo: A Quick Guide Part 1

Abruzzo: A Quick Guide Part 1:

Abruzzo is one of the twenty regions of Italy and is located centrally, approximately 70 miles to the east of Rome. Its eastern border is curtailed by the Adriatic Sea, and if Italy is ‘boot-shaped’, then Abruzzo is located near the back of the ’knee’. The historic city of L’Aquila is the regional capital of Abruzzo.

The Abruzzo region is divided into four distinct provinces: L’Aquila, Teramo, Chieti and Pescara (the capitals of these provinces being the towns of the same names). These four provinces are further divided into 305 communes (or municipalities).

Given that the Apennine mountain range cuts through the heart of Abruzzo it is no surprise that nearly two thirds of the region is mountainous and encompasses the tallest peak of the Italian peninsula – Corno Grande at 2912m. The restless internal forces that that shaped the landscape of Abruzzo, remain restless and the region has suffered a number of major earthquakes over its history. This rugged landscape makes it a magnet for skiing, climbing and hiking enthusiasts. Sprinkled amongst the breathtaking hills and mountains of Abruzzo are dozens of medieval castles, ancient villages and monasteries.  If you are planning a visit to Abruzzo, you will find can search for accommodation here.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *